iWalk Cornwall app account
Contents
iWalk account
The iWalk Cornwall app provides a way to manage and access your purchased walks across different accounts/platforms by signing in with your Apple or Google account.
How to sign in
To sign in to the iWalk Cornwall app, open the app and from the Home screen, tap "More options" and then "Sign in".
App screens
Sign in screen
From this screen, you can log in to the app with an Apple or Google account with either the same Apple/Google account that this device is currently signed in with, or a different Apple/Google account.
This has two purposes:
- To download walks which are not owned by the Apple/Google account which this device is logged in, but are owned by your other Apple/Google account.
- To store walks that are owned by the Apple/Google account with which this device is logged in with, so they can be accessed from a device signed in with a different Apple/Google account which does not own these walks.
My account screen
This screen shows the current Apple/Google account which the app is signed in with. Note the device may be signed in with the same or a different Apple/Google account than the one the app is signed in with.
The list of walks owned by this iWalk account is displayed below. Note: this may differ from the list of walks owned by the Apple/Google account with which the device is signed in.
- Sign out - logs the app out of the Apple/Google account. Any walks which are not owned by the Apple/Google account the device is signed in with will be removed. Any walks which are owned by the Apple/Google account the device is signed in with will remain.
- Delete account - permanently deletes all data (including walks) associated with the Apple/Google account the app is signed in with. Any walks which are not owned by the Apple/Google account the device is signed in with will be removed. Any walks which are owned by the Apple/Google account the device is signed in with will remain.
FAQ
Why sign in?
- When you purchase a walk in the iWalk Cornwall app, it is paid for by, then stored in, the Apple/Google account with which your device is signed in.
- On iPhone/iPad, whatever Apple ID you are signed in with in the App Store is the account that owns the walks.
- On Android, whatever Google account you are signed in with in the Play Store is the account that owns the walks.
- This means another device you own which is signed in with the same Apple/Google account can download the walks also.
- However, there are some cases where you might want to download walks which are owned by a different Apple/Google account, for example:
- You have purchased walks on an Apple/Google account (e.g. a work account) but you want to transfer them to a different Apple/Google account (e.g. a personal account)
- You have moved from an Android device to a new iPhone/iPad, or vice versa, and want to transfer your walks to the new device.
- The iWalk account allows you to sign in to the app using an Apple/Google account which is either the same or different from the Apple/Google account your device is signed in with.
What does signing in do?
When you sign in to the app using your chosen Apple/Google account, it will check for any walks owned by the iWalk account associated with the Google/Apple account you have signed in with and, if they are not already downloaded on your device, it will download them.
Additionally, any walks which are owned by the Apple/Google account your device is signed with will be added to the iWalk account for the Google/Apple account which the app is signed in with. This means if you log in to the app on another device with the same iWalk account, these walks will be available to download.
Limitations of signing in
There are some limitations to signing in:
- Walks can only be downloaded to one device at a time. If you want to sign in to the app on a second device with the same Apple/Google account, you will need to sign out of the first device first.
- Only walks which are owned by the Apple/Google account which the current device is signed in with will be added to the Apple/Google account which the app is signed in with.
Device access after reinstalling
The app normally allows one active installation for an iWalk account. If you uninstall the app before signing out, the next installation can recover that access when the account found on the device matches the account record. Android and iOS accounts are kept separate, so an account from one platform cannot authorise recovery on the other.
Usage scenarios
Moving from Android to Apple
If you've moved from Android to Apple follow these steps to ensure you get all your walks on your Apple device:
- Sign in to the app with your Apple account on your old Android device which your walks are downloaded onto. This will save the list of walks you own on Android into the cloud.
- Sign out of the app on your Android device.
- Sign in to the app with your Apple account on your Apple device. Your walks will then be downloaded.
Moving from Apple to Android
If you've moved from Apple to Android follow these steps to ensure you get all your walks on your Android device:
- Sign in to the app with your Google account on your old Apple device which your walks are downloaded onto. This will save the list of walks you own on Android into the cloud.
- Sign out of the app on your Apple device.
- Sign in to the app with your Google account on your Android device. Your walks will then be downloaded.
Moving between Google accounts
If you need to move walks from an old Google account (e.g. a work account) to a new one (e.g. a personal account):
- On an Android device which is signed in with your old Google account (which your walks are downloaded onto), sign in to the iWalk Cornwall app using your new Google account. This will save the list of walks your old Google account owns into the cloud.
- Sign out of the app on that Android device.
- On an Android device which is signed in with your new Google account, sign in to the iWalk Cornwall app using your new Google account. Your walks will then be downloaded.
Moving between Apple accounts
If you need to move walks from an old Apple account (e.g. a work account) to a new one (e.g. a personal account):
- On an Apple device which is signed in with your old Apple account (which your walks are downloaded onto), sign in to the iWalk Cornwall app using your new Apple account. This will save the list of walks your old Apple account owns into the cloud.
- Sign out of the app on that Apple device.
- On an Apple device which is signed in with your new Apple account, sign in to the iWalk Cornwall app using your new Apple account. Your walks will then be downloaded.